About the Post

Author Information

Review: Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser (Yikes!)

It has been raved about by Makeup Artists and Youtube gurus alike, and has won countless beauty awards. The Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser is definitely one of the most popular, cult beauty products on the market. Being the beauty product junkie that I am, I wanted to try it.  Yet my skin just did not like it at all. What did it do? It went and broke me out in painful red pimples on my chin and jawline. Boo.

€17 for 100ml, available on http://www.lizearle.ie

On the Liz Earle website, it states that the cleanser is for all skin types including skin prone to acne and rosacea:

“We only make one cleanser because this formulation is the ultimate in concentrated yet gentle cleansing power and works on every age and skin type.”

Having read so many positive reviews on it I wanted to give it a try because it’s also kind of a 2 in 1 product; it acts as a gentle exfoliator aswell with the included muslin cloth. I like those kind of products that do more for your skin because I don’t want to faff around with other products. I went and bought a small sized sample of it- a 30ml tube that cost me €6.50. Once it arrived I was super excited to try it so I literally ran up to my bathroom, massaged it into my skin, filled my sink with tepid water, soaked the cloth in it and gentle removed the cleanser. First off, the smell is amazing. You just can’t not enjoy the experience of washing your face with such a lovely scent. It’s very aromatic and herby.

My skin was as soft as a baby’s butt and it was so clear afterwards. That lasted about a day and then out erupted the painful, raw pimples on my chin area- something I hadn’t really got before. That was about two weeks ago and although it has cleared a lot now after I stopped using it, there are still some left behind. I didn’t dare use it again because I had enough of the pizza chin.

I was so bummed about it because I really wanted to like this product. It just shows you that even though it may work for so many people out there it just might not abide well with your skin. Sigh. On the plus side I’m glad I didn’t fork out on the full size, so take it form me and ALWAYS sample a product especially if your skin is finicky like mine. What doesn’t work for me could very well work with your skin so I’m not going to say that you should not go near the stuff. Despite that bad experience with the cleanser, I’m loving their Skin Boost Tonic.

For more, visit the Liz Earle website: www.lizearle.ie

Tags: ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

