About the Post

Author Information

My Top 5 Summer Picks!

Summer is fast approaching and I think many of us here in Ireland will be pretty happy having a Summer of NO rain. But I’m going on holidays because I want a proper dose of Summer sunshine and heat. Italy is where I’m hitting and for two glorious weeks I’ll be in a lovely place called Calabria in the South. So long Ireland! So I’ll no doubt have to scrape off all my Winter layers and stock up on some Summer essentials. Here are my picks for Summer ’12. Holiday not essential.

1. Aztec Prints

Aztec Print Playsuit, €20, Asos.com

  I’m in love with Prints and this season Paisley and Aztec prints are huge. This is such a gorgeous playsuit and what makes it even more great is the fact that in the space of a few weeks the price went from €50 right down to €20. I am so glad I didn’t buy it before now, even though I had my eye on it for a while. So take it from me, don’t buy any of the new stock from Asos as soon as it arrives because 9 times out of 10, it’ll be reduced as the weeks go by. Just keep an eye on it incase it sells fast.

2.  Tribal sandals

Tribal Print Beaded Gladiator Sandals
€59.99, River Island stores nationwide

You might want to give yourself a pedicure for these! They are super comfy because of the leather back and your feet aren’t going to be moving in every direction because of the added toe loop in the front. My favourite element of them is the embelishment to the front. They’re on the pricey side but if you take care of them, they will see you through a few summers and even nights out in between. Also, Asos.com stocks many River Island goodies including these, so keep an eye on discounts as I have already mentioned.

3. Pastel Denim

Mint Green Skinny Jean. €42.66, Asos.com

I like the summer look of pastel shades. Even better is they’re jazzing up regular denim. These are so pretty and will brighten up any plain T-Shirt.

4. Large Sunglasses

AJ Morgan Cathedral Print Sunglasses
€20, Asos.com

Despite the uncertainty of the weather, I still find the need to wear sunglasses because some days are really glarey even without the sun! I always have my trusty sunnies in my bag, and lately I’ve been liking the bigger ones.

Loose T-Shirt

Crop Textured T-Shirt. €16. Asos

Boyfriend T-Shirt. Available in 7 shades. €13.33, Asos.com.

I love T-Shirts, especially the loose- fitting kind. I just think they’re more comfy and if it is warm, they will keep you cool. Enough said?

These are my favourite picks for Summer and I wanted to narrow it down to five because with so many items to choose from, I think you really only need a few key pieces in your wardrobe. Five seemed better to me. I hope this helped.

In the meantime, why not let me know what some of your essentials for Summer 2012 are? I would love to hear from you!

Words: Lyndsey Sweeney

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

