About the Post

Author Information

Sensitive Skin? Hear Hear!

Sensitive skin more or less comes with the territory of being Irish. Irish people just naturally have the fair, rosy skin that is easily irritated. So if you suffer from this skin fiend, read on further where we can both share in its horrible-ness and see what can be done to help and manage it.

My skin and I don’t always get along and it’s mostly down to quite severe sensitivity and Rosacea. Rosacea is actually a very common skin condition that affects fair skinned people. It appears as facial redness on the nose, cheeks and chin area and is triggered by change in climate, spicy foods, alcohol and certain cosmetics. I have to be careful with what I put on my skin because I do break out in Rosacea and acne very easily. But the biggest triggers for me are sudden temperature changes and spicy foods; a sudden rise in air-conditioning and it flares up. Well, it’s not known as the ‘Curse of the Celts’ for nothing!

So in trying to manage my skin sensitivity I try and stick to a gentle and effective skin routine on a daily basis. It’s something I have had to learn to do along the way- mostly the hard way!

  1. In the morning I cleanse with a cleanser by Bare Escentuals called Bare Minerals Purifying Facial Cleanser.

€15, feelunique.com or in the larger Boots chemists.

2.  Next I spritz my face with a gentle toner or water. At the moment I’m using Skin Tonic by Liz Earle. This soothes my skin and smells amazing.

€14.75, available at http://www.lizearle.ie

3. During the day I use SPF as a moisturiser but if I’m hanging around the house I just use E45 Moisturiser. It’s so cheap and gentle and I love it. I make sure I use the lotion because it’s light and not too heavy on my oily skin.

€5.31, pharmacies and supermarkets nationwide

At night, I use the same products but before I use the cleanser I first take off my makeup with Trilogy Age Proof Active Enzyme Cleansing Cream. It acts as a gentle exfoliant and removes all my makeup. I follow with the cleanser most of the time just to deep cleanse.

€23.13, available at feelunique.com. Free Delivery.

Sensitive Skin DO’s

  • Do drink water. It’s always said again and again and I don’t drink nearly enough as I should. So do as I say and not as I do and drink plenty of it. Because your skin will be less irritated, more hydrated and happy.
  • Do see a dermatologist about your sensitive skin if you’re concerned- especially if you suffer from Rosacea. They can help you manage it and advise you.
  • Do cut back on the booze. Rosacea in many people is influeneced by it too.
  • Do look at the ingredients in products. Alcohol is a big NO!
  • Do use red-ness correcting makeup. Concealer and foundation that has a green tinge to it will neutralise red skin. Clinique has an excellant foundation called Redness Solutions.
  • Do wear your SPF everyday to protect your sensitive skin from the sun. SPF 15 and above is advisable.

Sensitive Skin DON’TS

  • Don’t use foaming cleansers. They can strip and irritate the skin more.
  • Don’t use rough exfoliators like those St.Ives grainy scrubs. They will most likely irritate the hell out of your face. Instead opt for non-abrasive exfoliators that don’t require rubbing and don’t have that grainy-ness. Ingredients like Lactic Acid, Citric acid and Glycolic acid are all natural exfoliators that remove dead skin cells without any harsh scrubbing. Try Dermalogica Gentle Cream Exfoliant ( €35.99) as an alternative.

If you have any tips for sensitive skin to share, please do!

Tags: , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

