About the Post

Author Information

Deadmau5 and Madonna, keep the noise down!

It was like a scene from celebrity death match on Twitter on Sunday night as Deadmau5 and Madonna were seemingly abrasively divided over whether or not it’s the done thing to campaign drug use in front of thousands of young impressionable fans.

The debacle originated  when Madonna made a surprise appearance at the Ultra Music Festival and efferently asked the crowd if anyone had seen “Molly.” For most people, it might have seemed like a relatively blameless question, but for Deadmau5 it seemed like a blunt reference to the drug MDMA, which is just one letter away from the title of Madonna’s new album, ‘MDNA’.

Deadmau5 then took to micro blogging site Twitter closely followed by an 800 word rant on Tumblr to voice his anger against Madonna for trying to be “hip” and “trendy” while concluding, “can’t smack my head hard enough right now.”

New-to-Twitter Madge then Tweeted the electronic musician to try quench the fury fires by posting an old picture of herself wearing mouse ears alongside a thought balloon containing the words, “From one mouse to another. I don’t support drug use and I never have. I was referring to the song called ‘Have You Seen Molly’ written by my friend Cedric Gervais who I almost worked with on my last album …”

 

Deadmau5 then replied, “Fair enough, I was just voicing my concerns as I usually do. +1 respect for clearing it up personally.” A few minutes later he added, “Regardless, just be a little more aware of what you *should* represent at EDM events, and ill watch my mouth.”

The two artists then toddled back and forth with a few more Twitter barters before Madonna finally finished by saying, “Communication is always best. You should have called me first, we could have cleared it up ‘privately.’ See you on the road.”

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

